Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Help disassembling an Elgin grade 96 "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Ron Birchall
posted
I have an Elgin grade 96 that I picked up as a practice movement. I am new at this but have been through the Tascione tapes, have one of the Fried books and have cruised this board and every place else I could find for info and I would like to see if I can clean this puppy up and get it running. (It runs for a momment or two and then stops.)

Two weeks ago, I found a web article about disassembling a full plate size 18 movement (possibly Elgin but I am not sure about that.) It was step by step with photos and very detailed. Just what I need at this stage. I bookmarked the page (or thought I did) and now I can't find it. I have revisited and researched to no avail. I am hoping one of the experts here can help with the missing reference.

I do have the following:
http://collomconsulting.home.att.net/assembly.htm
http://www.thewatchguy.homestead.com/repair.html

These are helpful but not the page I remember.

I also found these two threads:
https://ihc185.infopop.cc/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=3206049661&f=3426047761&m=907007866&r=907007866#907007866
https://ihc185.infopop.cc/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=3206049661&f=3426047761&m=8986091833&r=8986091833#8986091833

Also very helpful and maybe sufficient but I'd sure like the handholding of the missing page.

Anyone have an idea of what I was looking at?

Ron Birchall

Posts: 388 | Location: Wheaton, Illinois U.S.A. | Registered: December 20, 2004
posted
Hi Ron.I think you have enough information to start.Big thing very important, let down the power on the mainspring.If any doubts ask someone.The full plate movement is a little different to work on, but i do not find it harder to line up the pivots.
The tricky part is holding it upside down and then turn it right side up to finish putting the remainder of the pivots in.You have good