Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Pocahontas fixed, now cursing the Iroquois "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Member 1736
posted
What an incredible learning curve. I'm still really new to this whole COA thing... I've dabbled with a few here and there, but mostly took stuff to Dave.

Now that the remodel of my study is done and I have room to spread out and do this at home... I got in to a mode where I was trying to get two a week done... A bit fool hardy at this rate.

I'd like to think I've seen most of the curve balls these watches will throw at me... but...

Now; this Pocahontas was a runner going in to the project and I hated to tear her down, but she is headed out the door and I wanted to be able to say she was 100%. While it was apart, I noticed the escape wheel had odd wear... I had a good spare with a bad staff... so, I got to do my first wheel swap.

So, being all proud of myself for about a whole two minutes... then she stopped... just stopped... at random intervals... 2 minutes, 20 minutes... what ever... it acted like it was "over banking" but would start back up if I looked cross eyed at the escape wheel...

So, being convinced I did something wrong when I swapped the wheels... I tore the whole watch back down.. even the cap jewels... trying to figure out what was amiss.

This time it went back together and the escape would not advance at all... The pallet fork would toggle, but the escape wheel would not advance... all free spins checked out good.

The third time I repeated all jewel and assembly checks... I finally noticed daylight behind the pallet jewels.

I reckon it ain't supposed to be there.

Posts: 2032 | Location: San Diego, California in the USA | Registered: August 30, 2012
posted