Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

what causes this? "Click" to Login or Register 
Hamilton WW Expert

Picture of Gary Cole
posted
I am new to watches and i have a question or two.

i recently purchased a hamilton from the 30's , when the watch is on my wrist it keeps accurate time. However, when I lay it in my drawer, it stops. When i reset it , and wear the watch everything is fine. Any ideas on what the problem is and how hard is the fix.

Another Hamilton(#2) watch ran fine , when i added 2 dial screws, it stops. When i loosened the screws it seems to be ok, though it does not run consistently - i have not played with it a lot get an accurate read on the problems. It did run fine till i added the dial screws and tightened the dial, however.

I have dabbled in repairs and am learning slowly. Are the fixes fairly easy or should i turn them over to my watchmaker.

thanks

Gary

Posts: 61 | Location: Sarasota, Florida U.S.A. | Registered: May 30, 2004
Picture of Kenny Drafts
posted
Gary,
The obvious question on the first watch; "is it a self-wind?" If so the action of your wrist/arm is what keeps it wound. If that is not the case then there could be a variety of reasons from needing a cleaning and oiling to worn pivots, etc. and only close observation of the movement or a disassembly would reveal where the problem is.
On watch #2 I don`t know enough about wrist watch dial screws to comment, but if they go in from the side of the movement as in pocket watches, I don`t see how they would affect the running unless the dial is mis-aligned and the hand shafts are rubbing the dial edge.

Smile

Good observations, Barbara! Smile

Kenny

Posts: 359 | Location: Lexington, South Carolina USA | Registered: July 28, 2003
Hamilton WW Expert

Picture of Gary Cole
posted
both watches are mechanical, and i acquired them at the national , i do not know the service history of them.