• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

What type of lubricant for a sticky stem? "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I am new to pocket watches, but have always loved them.
I own a Hampden which was serviced not too long ago, yet the stem is "sticky". Whenever I pull up on the stem to set the time it takes a very hard pull. Other than that I am very happy with it.
My experience with a variety of lubes is mostly with pocket knives and firearms so wanted to check here first to see if anyone has a favorite brand or category of lubricant.
Thanks very much in advance.

Posts: 2 | Location: Frederick, Maryland in the USA | Registered: April 29, 2014
IHC Member 1291
Picture of Buster Beck
posted
What you have described is a stem/sleeve combination that fits down into the pendant urn.

A "stiff" pull to snap it into the set position usually denotes either a fairly new stem/sleeve or a rusted stem/sleeve combination.

Many amateurs semi clean and polish the cases yet fail to disassemble the stem/sleeve/crown first. They then rinse it with water and shine it up but the stem/sleeve ends up rusting inside the pendant and perhaps over time becomes "sticky" and hard to operate. The sleeve has 3-4 fingers that fit over the stem. These fingers over time from rust and years of use will sometimes break a finger or two off. Generally at that time the sleeve will need to be replaced.

One needs to have the ability to remove the movement, then unscrew the crown, take a sleeve wrench and unscrew the stem/sleeve assembly and remove it from the pendant. If it is rusted, one may take steel wool and/or a small wire brush and remove all of the rust. I then like to inspect the fingers and make sure everything is intact.