Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

sprung hinge question "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Frank Juchniewicz
posted
I have a 3/0 Hunter Case with a sprung hinge. It's the rear hinge. Is there any way of" making it whole again".

Frank Juchniewicz

Posts: 440 | Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA | Registered: January 28, 2003
IHC Life Member
Picture of John D. Duvall
posted
Frank,

"Sprung" meaning:

1. Opens past 90 degrees.

2. Won't snap close.

3. Ready to fall off.

Do you have a picture of the affected area?

John D. Duvall
Vice President, Education

Posts: 1123 | Location: Arizona U.S.A. | Registered: January 21, 2003
posted
John

It is #2 on your list.

I have a camera,but have not mastered it yet.But I have every intention of mastering the Beast soon. Those are my wife's orders,as we are going on a trip to the West coast next month.

The case is a Keystone JBoss 14k 25 yr.
Front cover- no problem
Dome-closes w/no problem

Frank Juchniewicz

Posts: 440 | Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA | Registered: January 28, 2003
IHC Life Member
posted
Frank,

Where on the West coast are you headed to?

The small size of a 3/0 case makes truing the covers very difficult. Without removing the hinge pin and cover, there's not a lot that can be done.

You may want to check and see if the rear cover closes evenly on both sides. If it's warped a little to one side and the hinge is not cracked or damaged, you can try gently tweaking it back until both sides are even.

On a 16s case that had a rear cover that was sprung, I inserted a tiny piece of pegwood between the cuvette and rear cover hinges and applied closing pressure on the rear cover. The rear cover snapped closed after that but I risked doing further damage.

I would recommend finding a place that does case repairs such as Wuischpard & Son.

John D. Duvall

posted
John