Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

help with disassembly of 1884 elgin Gr. 96 please "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Todd Verriere
posted
Hi everyone, Todd the beginner here.
i am attempting to diassemble an 1884 elgin Gr. 96.
the balance wheel and bridge, barrel bridge, and barrel are out. this is a non-runner i purchased for practice, but i really love it and don't want to hurt it. i have researched all i can and i understand to remove the screws then flip it over and remove the pillar plate so as not to damage the pallet fork with the potence.why does this make a difference? will the pallet fork stay in place with the potence if upside down?
thanks
Todd

dalarry

Posts: 290 | Location: Montreal in Canada | Registered: January 11, 2015
Picture of Todd Verriere
posted
sorry, forgot pic
this thing is filthy inside

dalarry

Picture of Dave Turner
posted
Todd, On these type watches, if you were to remove the top plate you could damage the pallet fork by dragging it out along with the top plate.
The end of the fork that connects with the balance wheel extends into that little round opening on the plate.
Actually, I remove the top plate watching carefully to relieve the end of the pallet fork.

I'm sure others here can give you a more specific detailed answer.

Dave Turner

Posts: 1979 | Location: Wilson, North Carolina in the USA | Registered: November 15, 2011
IHC Member 1947
Picture of Serge Barlas
posted
Hi Todd,