Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Questions about servicing a Hamilton 974 movement "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hi everyone,
This is my first post and have a couple of questions. I'm just learning about the wonders of mechanical watches and managed to purchase a Hamilton 974 movement. What a beauty. I am in the process of disassembling this movement and unfortunately the screw for the ratchet wheel must have reached escape velocity and is now orbiting the earth somewhere because I cannot find it anywhere. I saw that Cas Ker has an assortment of screws (Swiss made)on their website. Will these work on an American made watch? Is the thread pitch common to all pocket watches regardless of being American or Swiss made? Second question: Where can one obtain a parts breakdown (pictorial) of this movement? Thanks in advance for any help.
David

David

Posts: 18 | Location: Goleta, California in the USA | Registered: November 16, 2011
IHC Vice President
Pitfalls Moderator
IHC Life Member
Picture of Edward L. Parsons, Jr.
posted
Welcome aboard to IHC185 David!

I'm not a watch mechanic, so I can't help you with your present difficulty, but a lot of our members are knowledgeable in that department, so I'm sure you'll get help soon.

Best Regards,

Ed

Posts: 6696 | Location: Southwestern Pennsylvania, USA | Registered: April 19, 2004
posted
Ed,
Thanks for the warm welcome. I'm excited about getting my hands on something mechanical after working 30+ years as an electrical engineer. Always loved working with my hands and am especially fascinated that given the technology available in the early 1900's that a watch of this beauty could be made.
David

David

Posts: 18 | Location: Goleta, California in the USA | Registered: November 16, 2011
Picture of Richard Romero
posted
Welcome to IHC185 David,