Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

AAAGH!! help with *%&^%!! hairspring stud pls. "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Todd Verriere
posted
hi everybody, todd the novice here
i just spent two hours getting the hairspring stud back in the balance cock of my new york standard. on the elgin i did it just went right in, no problem.
now that i have it in place i have found that the impulse jewel is not in beat so i have to take it apart again! AAAGH!!
is there some technique i have not yet learned to make this easier? or is this problem just a function of the fact this is a cheap movement?
please help before i lose my mind and give up on watches all together and decide to collect antique dust or something. Razz
thanks
todd

Posts: 290 | Location: Montreal in Canada | Registered: January 11, 2015
IHC Life Member
posted
Todd,

When new at this it is good practice to remove the balance and hairspring assembly from the balance cock in order to adjust the collet to avoid damage to the hairspring. After a little practice, you can use your balance tack and let the hairspring and balance suspend from it. With a small offset tool that has a tip that will fit in the hairspring collet you can go from the top of the suspended hairspring, insert the tool in the slot and rotate the collet slightly left or right as needed. You will have to gently hold the balance wheel while doing this. As with so many things with watchmaking it takes time to develop a 'touch' for performing the task you want to do without damage.

Posts: 1078 | Location: Ticonderoga, New York USA | Registered: March 01, 2008
Picture of Todd Verriere
posted
hi Roger,
you are right, i am definitely more comfortable removing removing the balance and hairspring from the balance cock. i have a balance tack but it makes me so nervous that i am going to damage the hairspring.