• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Why ? an help to a newbie "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I am an absolute newbie (and an Italian, so forgive my English) . I just received a 992B, really near mint. Wonderful watch: but there is one thing that puzzles me. The watch has been manufactured, I deem, in 1957 (C451740) and is lever set, as I see in quite older watches. Why Hamilton resorted to this uncomfortable setting ? The only reason I can figure out is an ellipical way to put focus on the precision of the watch (you do not need to set it ...). Sorry being long.

Posts: 277 | Location: Cardano al Campo in Italy | Registered: March 29, 2008
IHC Life Member
Certified Watchmaker
Picture of Chris Abell
posted
If I understand your question why did they use a set lever instead of a pendant set it was to prevent accidiental time adjustment, part of the RR regulations for these watches

Posts: 2625 | Location: Northeast Texas in the USA | Registered: November 20, 2003
IHC Member
posted
Mario-You have a really good pocket watch there-check out our Hamilton 992B info and learn just how special that watch is!

Stick around, you are welcome here my friend!

Marty

posted
You gotta love their re-invention of lever setting in Hamilton's post-1958 catalogs featuring the Railway Specials: "SAFETY SET DEVICE TO PREVENT ACCIDENTAL CHANGING OF HANDS" By this time pendant setting was almost universal and lever setting only on railroad models so it needed special mention!

Posts: 653 | Location: St Paul, Minnesota in the USA | Registered: May 04, 2004
posted
Mario-benvenuto a IHC! Hai un orologio historico della ferrovia Americana. Ho uno collezione di tutti formi di questi 992B orologi.

Posts: 653 | Location: St Paul, Minnesota in the USA | Registered: May 04, 2004
IHC President
Life Member
Picture of Lindell V. Riddle
posted

Welcome to IHC185 Mario,