Page 1 2 
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Help! Glaskie of Manchester "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hi All, I am a newbie to the site and pocket watches for that matter so would appreciate as much help as possible to gain some history to my grandfather's watch. The mechanism is inscribed Glaskie, Manchester I think the initial is S or F and has the serial No. 77940. The case is silver (I think) and has the following marks: sword, what look like 3 mushrooms and a lion, the same serial No. as the mechanism is underneath these symbols and then S.Y 9 under this. The mechanism is wound by a key which is also used to adjust the hands.

I will post some photos after I have re-taken them, the ones I took earlier are to big to "post"

Posts: 14 | Location: Scotland in the United Kingdom | Registered: July 25, 2010
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator

Picture of Tom Brown
posted
Hi Paul

Welcome to the club, once photos are posted we might could give you some information. I have started to research the name Glaskie but with photos it might help pin down a time frame in Manchester.

Also closeups of the markings inside the case back may help date the case & watch.

I look forward to seeing the photos. You might check out the tips on how to post your photos;
https://ihc185.infopop.cc/eve/f...s/a/frm/f/7356029761

Welcome again!

Tom

Posts: 5107 | Location: New Mexico in the USA | Registered: January 27, 2007
posted
Hi Paul, Welcome to IHC 185.

As Tom has said, please post some photo's when you've cracked how to reduce them.
If any problems, just mail me the pic's and I'll upload them for you.

From what you've described of the hallmarks, they sound like Sterling Silver for Chester.
Not sure about the sword though!

Until we see photo's, the movement could be anything, as key winds covered Verge, Fusee English levers, Swiss cylinder & Swiss lever types, it could be anything in there.

Best regards

John