• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Hello...and help me identify this pocket watch. "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Howdy from TX! I am an amateur watch enthusiast and watch repairer (battery replacer...lol) and sometimes seller on ebay. I like to check out antique/junk shops for interesting timepieces for re-sale or just to collect.

That being said, I am having a heck of a time determining the maker of this pocket watch. Here are some things I have noticed about the watch:

It is a wind-up.

White face, roman numeral dial with a seconds sub-dial at the 6 o'clock position. Numbers outside each roman numeral in increments of 5 all the way to 60.

The outside case-back has an engraved scene with a bird in rose-gold flying above a rose-gold nest.

The crown also appears to be rose-gold.

There is a fob(?), not sure if is original to the watch.

It appears to be silver (there is an 0800 stamp inside the first & second case-back, which someone indicated means 80% silver).

There is also stamped "S+P" inside the case-back as well as the movement. The "+" is a thick cross, which appears to be of a Swiss origin.

It has a second case-back, which also has the "0800" stamped in it.

Also inside of the case-back is a woman's name with the date 1891 engraved.

The movement, in addition to having "S+P" stamped on it, has "243" stamped directly below it.

The OD (side to side) is about 33mm.

Posts: 8 | Location: East Texas in the USA | Registered: January 11, 2013
posted
Some more pics:

Picture of Peter Kaszubski
posted
Swiss made pocket watch in nice silver case
its hard to get the manufacturer from swiss watches
is the watch running?

Posts: 4395 | Location: Arizona in the USA | Registered: July 23, 2011
posted
Yes...I guess I left out the most important part...lol. It runs fine.

posted
great working watch in nice silver case you got a winner they are not big money maker but you can get around $45-55 on ebay and who knows perhaps more