• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Advice needed "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I am thinking of buying a decent set of scredrivers and am looking at the Bergeon range but am not sure whether to go for the antimagnetic version. Can anyone advisea complete novice

TJP

Posts: 83 | Location: Sleepy Sussex, United Kingdom | Registered: February 14, 2008
IHC Life Member
South-Bend
Picture of Frank Kusumoto
posted
For the most basic of tools you should always go for the best.

Posts: 1029 | Location: Denver, Colorado U.S.A. | Registered: October 08, 2004
posted
Could not agree more. Inferior tools always cost more than the best tools do.

posted
Tim,
Don't know if you got your screwdrivers, but to echo what Frank and Mike have said, buy the best - and Bergeon are up there.

The type with replaceable blades are good, as you can swap a broken tip quickly if in the middle of a job and don't want to break off to reprofile it.

I would also recommend you practice repairing some broken tips on a fine stone too, as you'll need to do that at some point - a badly shaped tip can and will ruin screws, plus slip out of a screw head across a plate ruining that too!

Best regards

John

Posts: 1282 | Location: Northern England, United Kingdom | Registered: January 07, 2006
IHC President
Life Member
Picture of Lindell V. Riddle
posted

Absolutely!

In any line of work quality tools are not an expense, they are an investment.

Wink

Posts: 10553 | Location: Northeastern Ohio in the USA | Registered: November 19, 2002
posted
A long time ago I had a friend who built show motor cycles. His favorite was a Harley 48 twin pan with a kuckle-head frame. He has a special set of wrenches that were lined with rawhide as not to scratch the hardware. I was thinking, does someone make nylon screwdriver tips (or some such material) that would prevent an accidental scratch of a movement?