Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Webb C. Ball - Button "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hello,
Can anyone tell me what the code means on this button? Overall it's a little smaller than a dime.
Thanks
Vince

Posts: 93 | Location: Cockeysville, Maryland in the USA | Registered: October 28, 2009
posted
Other side of button.

Posts: 93 | Location: Cockeysville, Maryland in the USA | Registered: October 28, 2009
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator

Picture of Tom Brown
posted
Would appear to be Morse code to me, I am not very good at it anymore, it has been since I was a kid that I played around with it.

It might be IST or TSI but that is a guess, I would assume somehow railroad related. Maybe someone else can read Morse code better than me. Or possibly MOT or TOM

Posts: 5107 | Location: New Mexico in the USA | Registered: January 27, 2007
Railway Historian
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator
Picture of Larry Buchan
posted
Vincent this is a very interesting pin you showed it upside down, as you can see by the arrow on the tag.

Larry

Posts: 3370 | Location: Okotoks Alberta Canada | Registered: November 22, 2002
Railway Historian
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator
Picture of Larry Buchan
posted
I've been aware of these pins for over 25 years now, I found a old 1925 Otto Young & Co. jewelry and watch catalog at a watch show back in 1986 , it had many railroad brotherhood's and other union pins.

Railway Historian
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator
Picture of Larry Buchan
posted
One page of pins on the bottom was very interesting with pins for the Miscellaneous Railway Organizations, including the Order of Railway Conductors, Brotherhood of Railroad Carmen, The International Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees, Brotherhood of Railway Clerks, Switchmen's Union of North America, and the Order of Railroad Telegraphers.

Railway Historian
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator
Picture of Larry Buchan
posted