• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Lost-Stolen Database? "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I’m an absolute newbie (joined yesterday) and have been reading with interest the postings in this forum, so forgive me if my questions are answered elsewhere.
Is there a lost or stolen database? I recently purchased a Hamilton 992B on eBay and received it, immediately noticing that there had been engraving on the back of the case which had been ground off in some way. I suppose that someone selling this watch might have thought it more sellable without any personalization, but there may have been other less honorable motives, as well. There was no indication in the eBay description about this.
The serial number on the movement does not match any that are listed on posts in this forum. I was wondering if there is a database somewhere that one could check against?

Gropo

posted
Hi and welcome , the case may have been an old military issue , look up this link ; https://ihc185.infopop.cc/eve/f...0103944/m/6173944197
you may want to post a picture , the case's have serial numbers on all the piece's , so to repair it it may be worth sending it to case repair shop like ;https://www.pocketwatchcaserepair.com/contactus good luck with it

posted
Here is a pic of the back of the case. The ghost of the letter “A” can be seen in the upper left quadrant, and the serifs of other letters in several lines below.

Gropo

posted
Sorry, rotate the pic 90 degrees ccw .. still a rookie at this photo posting

Gropo

posted
Movement serial number C498513 puts the date at about 1965 production. Don’t know if the case number is contemporary.
And here is a pic of the inside of the back. There are numbers scratched (151178?) at the perimeter, and perhaps some more about 120 degrees further around.
Any idea what the scratched numbers might be? A date?

Gropo

IHC Member 1357
posted
Steve, if your movement is from 1965 or so,I believe