• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Help to ID watch "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I just bought this on e-bay. It is a Swiss size 20,movement 785630, Swiss special, case 0314502.The movement is lever set with screw on front and back. The movement and dial are marked PRW Co. Is this a real railroad watch? I am a beginner at collecting and repair so any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

railroad watch PR&WCo

Posts: 6 | Location: Leesport, Pennsylvania in the USA | Registered: January 07, 2012
posted
Another view

railroad watch P&RWCo

Posts: 6 | Location: Leesport, Pennsylvania in the USA | Registered: January 07, 2012
posted
Full view. Is this a barrel type movement

railroad watch P&RWCo

IHC Life Member
Site Moderator

Picture of Tom Brown
posted
Hi Kevin

I can't tell for sure from your photos but you watch maybe be what is called a Swiss fake. If you search the site for swiss fake you will find many examples of them. We have all bought one along the line.

I am not sure what you mean by your question about it being a barrel type movement.

Tom

Posts: 5107 | Location: New Mexico in the USA | Registered: January 27, 2007
IHC Life Member
Picture of David Abbe
posted
Hi Kevin, I researched the eBay sale and have all good news for you!
1. At $40.00 and change your "lesson" was not too expensive. Actually the watch might be repairable!
2. The case is very interesting, as I have not seen that Trademark before. It is certainly worth what you paid for the auction.
3. A new Crystal is available from one of our very own; William White, White's Crystals. You can reach him at;
info@whitescrystals.com

Posts: 6492 | Location: Southern California in the USA | Registered: July 19, 2007
IHC Life Member
Picture of David Abbe
posted