Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Info/Help: 23 Jewel Bunn Special (pls/thx) "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Greg Cook
posted
Hello everyone, I'm new to all this but always been interested in old railway pocket watches. On a recent trip to Mexico I came across this Bunn Special I couldn't pass it up. It looks great but is it too good to be true? I've tried to find info online but can't quite find anything that matches. Any help you guys can give me with info like authenticity, model type/history, rarity, value, etc etc etc would be greatly appreciated!

The outside of the case has a etching of a train with leaves, kind of hard to see. The dial is just marked "Illinois" and 24hrs.

Inside the case is marked:
"Star Case Watch Company" (around a star logo);
"10K Rolled Gold Plate";
"4028539" (i think, the s/n is quite worn).

On the works:
"Bunn Special" (scripted);
"Illinois Watch Co Spring field";
"Adjusted Temp and Six Positions";
"Motor Barrel";
23 Jewels";
"Double Roller";
"3731382" (s/n)

There appears to be another marking under the tear drop shaped part beside where it says motor barrel, but I can't make it out and am not about to fiddle with the parts.

These picks were just some quick shots with my phone but I can break out the good camera and take some better detailed shots if you'd like. Let me know. And thanks in advance for any help you can give me on this!

dial1

Posts: 8 | Location: British Columbia in Canada | Registered: May 21, 2013
Picture of Greg Cook
posted

dial2

Picture of Greg Cook
posted

case

Picture of Greg Cook
posted

case2

Picture of Greg Cook
posted

guts

Picture of Greg Cook
posted

guts2

IHC Member 1016
posted