Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

992B Dial "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Michael Dias
posted
Good day everyone. I'm new to the chapter what a great site for information. There are so many knowledgable folks here. I have a question in regards to my 992B and 996. My Hamilton 992B Ser# C10022 has a 519 Dial. In reading some of the posts here it seems that a majority have the RWS dials. The watch appears to be original, at least the BOC case has no other screw marks and is in very nice condition. Granted it could have been recased. Ser# of case is H528346. Would the 519 dial be appropriate for this watch? Also have a 996 with a DS dial with script signiture. What period did Hamilton make the change to block signitures?
Keep up the nice work!

Mike

Posts: 72 | Location: Benicia, California USA | Registered: May 10, 2006
posted
Hello and welcome.
You may find this post helpful.

Aaron

Posts: 945 | Location: Geneva, Illinois in the U.S.A. | Registered: November 19, 2002
Picture of Michael Dias
posted
Wonderful Aaron. I appriciate the response and educational material.
Happy to be a collector,

Mike

Picture of Robert M. Sweet
posted
Michael,
Welcome to the IHC 185 message board. Your 992B was probably made late 1940 or early 1941 and most were advertised with the RWS signature as you mentioned.

That said, Hamilton had problems early on with processing the DS (double-Sunk) enamel dials, (specifically the No. 536, 537, 532) and designed SS (single-sunk) dials as substitutes.

It's (possible) they used the (519) non-RWS HG enamel dial as a substitute. Just a thought.

Keep in mind that without documentation, i.e. sales slips, or box and label, its not possible to know the original configuration.

Below is the non-RWS DS, 519 dial on the left and the RWS, DS, 536 dial on the right.

Hope this helps.

Robert

Posts: 553 | Location: Southwest Virginia U.S.A. | Registered: December 27, 2004
Picture of Michael Dias
posted