• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Trying to identify my late father's watch "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hello, having attended a local watch and clock show recently - my first - I was inclined to retrieve my late father's pocket watch from the drawer it has resided in for many years. Unfortunately I have no knowledge at all about vintage watches and so I'm hoping to find out when it was made and other information about the make. I did find, online, some information about the company which was Ball.

Inside, the movement says Ball Watch Co. Cleveland, Ohio; 19 Jewel Adjusted; Double Roller; and, the serial number is B404542. The case (inside) says Ball Model; Wadsworth Quality; 14K Gold Filled; with a serial number in a rounded V pattern 7814220.

Would you be able to point me to where I can find more information about this watch?

Posts: 5 | Location: Calgary, Alberta in Canada | Registered: June 12, 2011
posted
Hi Ken
Welcome to this board.
Your watch appears to be a Ball Illinois 12 size, likely made around 1930. A good grade, great timepiece.
I am sure others will chime in and offer further and more info on this watch.
Bill

Posts: 1278 | Location: British Columbia in Canada | Registered: May 19, 2008
Picture of David A. Vasarab
posted
Hello Ken,
Thanks for sharing your watch info.
Can you post a photo of the movement? Much more can be gained with that.
Welcome aboard!

Posts: 76 | Location: Parma, Northern Ohio USA | Registered: January 02, 2006
posted
Hello David, I hope the attached photo helps (it's difficult to photograph the shiny insides with a poor digital camera).

posted
Welcome, Ken. Smile

I re-sized your pics to fit the screen.

Posts: 2962 | Location: Western New York in the USA | Registered: March 24, 2008
posted
I've been able to discover some information about my watch from members of the *****. It seems the watch is an Illinois grade 417 (size 12), made for Ball between late 1920s and mid-1930s.