• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Trying to identify a watch "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I am new to the world of watches and am the proud recipienet of wonderful looking pocekt watch and know nothing about it.

All I can tell is the following:
Made by the Hampden Watch Co., John Hancock 21 Jewel workings, Keystone Watch case J Boss # 9519874. There is an engraving on the inside of the back bezel 11-18-57 A1268. Any help indentifying this would be great.

Thanks,
Kim

Posts: 3 | Location: Waterford, Connecticut in the USA | Registered: April 06, 2008
12-Size Expert
Picture of Robert Schussel
posted
Kim
It would be helpful if you could provide the serial number on the movement.

bob

Posts: 621 | Location: Vallejo, California U.S.A. | Registered: July 10, 2004
IHC Life Member
Picture of David Abbe
posted
Kim, What Robert is saying is to help you research your watch, we need the Movement serial number. For example, here is a Movement picture of a similar Hampden that is on my "ready line" for restoratin. The plates may be almost the same, but not as high Jeweled as yours

Posts: 6492 | Location: Southern California in the USA | Registered: July 19, 2007
IHC Life Member
Picture of David Abbe
posted
In a "closer up" of the movement where the serial number is, I marked the number with white arrows. You may need a lense to read it, but that is what we to need.

Posts: 6492 | Location: Southern California in the USA | Registered: July 19, 2007
posted
I think I found it. The number I was able to get is 1382965. Does that help?

Posts: 3 | Location: Waterford, Connecticut in the USA | Registered: April 06, 2008
12-Size Expert
posted
Kim
I need to check another source tonight but it seems your watch is 18 size Open Faced Lever set 21j .The serial number suggests it was produced between 1898 and 1902.

Bob

IHC Life Member
Picture of David Abbe
posted