• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Sometimes I get bored at night... "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
And find nothing better to do than use AutoCAD to draw things. I like to believe it also helps me with work as I use AutoCAD a lot so it helps keep my skills up. I've worked on this one for a couple nights. I still need to add an escapement and also teeth to the winding gears. Shaping up nicely though. Let me know your thoughts or changes!

Posts: 1626 | Location: North Dakota in the USA | Registered: December 09, 2009
IHC Vice President
Pitfalls Moderator
IHC Life Member
Picture of Edward L. Parsons, Jr.
posted
Good going Jared. In my career as a mechanical engineer, I worked with Computervision CADDS 4x systems for quite a few years in designing gas turbine engines.

The CAD technology really lends itself to something like a pocket watch. I look forward to seeing more of your renderings! Big Grin

Best Regards,

Ed

Posts: 6696 | Location: Southwestern Pennsylvania, USA | Registered: April 19, 2004
Picture of Edward Kitner
posted
Very nice Jared. Maybe you could come up with some new damaskeening! Cool
I miss having CADD. I used it in my position as a tax map technician before I retired.
I do not know how many times I have wished I had it on my home computer to do drawings of my wood working projects. But it is way to expensive to ever think about getting it for myself.

Posts: 1488 | Location: New York State in the USA | Registered: March 04, 2008
posted
A lot of us with similar backgrounds, I'm a mechanical/industrial engineer and Engineering professor for over 40 years. But my CAD skills are pretty low... when you have grad students working for you they get to have all the fun.

Gary

Posts: 586 | Location: Bastrop, Texas in the USA | Registered: January 22, 2011
IHC Member 1369
posted
That's really neat, Jared. I know nothing about working with CAD but I see a potential here...