Page 1 2 
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Waltham unusual find help "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
My son found this Waltham watch today at a flemarket. I have never see one like this. I have dated it to around 1931-1932.It is quite heavy the stem is missing or I can't find where you would set it or wind it.It has a beauitful dial,both the front and back screw off. I'm looking for information and if this would be worth having restored. Here is some pictures.

Posts: 66 | Location: Silsbee, Texas in the USA | Registered: December 01, 2009
posted
More pictures

posted
Pictures

posted
Heres a picture

posted
Another picture

Picture of Chris Hughes
posted
I can't speak to the movement itself, but it looks to me like that's a jeweler's display case it's in, which would explain the lack of a stem. I'm no Waltham expert, though. Someone with more experience with these will have better information, no doubt.

Posts: 310 | Location: Portland, Oregon in the USA | Registered: February 07, 2010
posted
Hi Perry, Can you take a close up of the section by the 8 on the dial. Is that a screw or ?...Seems like overkill for a display case, maybe its supposed to have a key wound movement in it since it has the hole in the rear cover.

Posts: 1499 | Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California USA | Registered: December 20, 2006
posted
Yes Ray, it is a screw

IHC Life Member
Site Moderator

Picture of Tom Brown
posted
On the case, is there any brand name or patent numbers. It looks like a case to be mounted in something, a bank timer, auto?

Tom

Posts: 5107 | Location: New Mexico in the USA | Registered: January 27, 2007
posted
no there are no numbers on case

posted
after looking closer at the case at the 1 there is screm holding a plate that has a pin at the 12 that looks like it holds the stim in. under the plate is the number 22

Picture of Edward Kitner
posted