Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

New York Institute of Photography, How to!!! "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Life Member
Picture of Patrick Wallin
posted
PHOTOGRAPHING SMALL OBJECTS
Shooting, adjusting light, cropping, sizing and fixing the color.

Hi,
My name is Patrick and I am member # 1616. I am a Graduate of “The New York Institute of Photography”. Although I graduated a long time ago, just on the brink of the new exciting digital world and have probably forgot more than I know, I was one of the first at the institute to start using a digital camera. I put up with a lot of resistance but insisted it was going to be a winner. Now I hear What’s a 35mm? People have never used one of any format size. They are still in use today and still produce very high resolution negatives especially in the larger formats. I still have my credentials. (PIC)
Nuff said, Let’s get started. It really does not matter how many mega-pixels you camera is as I don’t think you are going to make 4 foot by 4 foot posters to send out. You are only concerned with 98% macro items here.
Tools needed will be:
Camera, with Macro, chip, batteries and ready to shoot. Mine is an old 6 MP Panasonic but even an old 1.5 will do the job for Macro photography. You don’t need 10 MP to take a 1 mega-pixel picture.
Tripod (Maybe Good Will, or any major department store) Desktop model. Tripods are almost a must for close up work as the slightest movement causes blur even with a fast shutter speed. You will have to learn to use the timer to keep the camera steady during the shot.
Lighting. (Local hardware) (I use three) The clamp on, goose necks work good as you can move them around.
Tent (Optional) (Available on E Bay)
Backdrop. Red, White, Black & Blue material, dull not shiny or reflective. Either hard surface or cloth.
Stands & Props. (Jerry Kings watch stands are great for this) You can use Rodico clay too.
SETTING UP THE CAMERA