Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

what is the best way to learn watch repair? "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
hi gang
ive decided out of neccesity to try to learn watch repair and was wondering if it is possible to do repairs useing how to books or is this something best left to trained professionals?

Eek

Posts: 9 | Location: Indiana in the United States | Registered: February 29, 2008
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator

Picture of Tom Brown
posted
Hi Charlie

I did it with books & asking questions on sites like this one. I bought some really cheap movements to start with & just keep learning as I go. I have been doing it for about 2 years now but I still run across problems that take a while to figure out but I think that is what makes it so enjoyable.

Two books that were recommended by I think Chris Abell were "The Watch Repairer's Manual" by Henry B. Fried & also by the same author "Bench Practices For Watch & Clockmakers".

Good luck & I am sure you will find a lot of help here on IHC185.

Tom

Posts: 5107 | Location: New Mexico in the USA | Registered: January 27, 2007
IHC Life Member
Picture of David Abbe
posted
Henry B. Fried's "Watch Repairer's Manual" should be available through the regular bookstores, at least by order. The "Bench Practices" may be a little harder to find, buy I got mine on eBay. Also the Bulova Watch School manual is in print too Also, Chris Abell posted the steps he takes to clean and assemble watches which applies to wristwatches, but also can be used in general for pocket watches. I think those are in the watch repair section.
Sometimes a 4-day "field suitcase" course #F301 is offered in which you learn to disassemble, clean, reassemble, do light repairs and timing of Pocket Watches. I think the "Group Therapy" of that class took me over the top as far as learning how to carefully and patiently work on these things and figure their little quirks out along the way.