Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Elgin 455 BW Raymond questions "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Gary Elmore
posted
I am very new to the Horology so please excuse my ignorance.
I am looking for some input on a watch I just purchased for a project watch.
it is a Elgin BW Raymond 19J 16S grade 455 SN#23297933 in a GF Keystone case.

1. I would like to replace the dial because of the damage but I dont think the one on it is correct. where should I start looking. are there vintage watch part suppliers around other than eBay?

2. A balance jewel screw is missing. once again I will need parts.

3. Last question. isn't the lettering on the movement suppose to be gold?

feel free to point out anything i might have over looked
Thank you in advance for any input you may have.

movement

Posts: 38 | Location: Muskogee, Oklahoma in the USA | Registered: March 09, 2016
Picture of Gary Elmore
posted
this is the dial

Dial

Posts: 38 | Location: Muskogee, Oklahoma in the USA | Registered: March 09, 2016
Picture of Gary Elmore
posted
this is the case info

case marking

IHC Member 1110
posted
Nice 455 Gary. That dial is not likely original, most 455's would have a "49" dial or a Montgomery.(The 49 dial has extra bold numerals, no red 5-min track, and heavy diamond shaped hour markers) The lettering should all be gold except for the Elgin markings under the balance which should be in black.That will make a really nice watch!Parts should be easy to find. Take care, Ted.

Posts: 1323 | Location: Lebanon, Connecticut USA | Registered: March 28, 2008
Picture of Gary Elmore
posted
Thanks Ted.
I will look for a 49 dial I know the one your talking about. as far as the gold lettering I dont think there is anything I can do about that. I have been carrying it for a few days now and haven't lost a minute. but i dont know about seconds. (yet)

posted
I have one of those 19j beauties. I prefer the damaskeening and regulator on them to the 21j BWR's that followed.