• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Grandfather's Watch "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hello to everyone. I am very new to this hobby just a couple of days. What started me out was my grandfathers watch which I have been carrying for about 10 years(it keeps perfect time), a friend told me to lock it up because of its value. It is value to me is priceless because it belonged to my grandfather. My grandfather worked for L&N railroad and was a member of the Brotherhood of the Locomotive, Engineers and Trainmen. Now for the watch it appears from markings to be a Ball Official RR Standard Cleveland model 999B. The markings and numbers I find on the watch are Location-(BACK) Ball Official RR Standard, Keystone watch case, J.Boss, 10K Gold filled, 9785378. Location-(GUTS) 6 Position adjusted, Ball watch Co., Cleveland, Ohio, 999B, 21 Jewels, Trademark Official Standard, 1B8135. Location(Housing under crystal ring) 5378. The hands of the watch are blue and one of the hour hand looks like a spade. On the back of the watch case the is a design that I was told was marking or insignia for the BLET. I have tried to include pictures of the watch. What my goal is, is to beable to link my grandfathers watch from factory to L&N or BLET and maybe find copies of one of the yearly calibations his watch went through. This would be so great to for my children to pass it to. I forgot to mention I view the case back were the 9785378 numer is, under a microscope and there are dates and initials scribed on it. Any help/information anyone could give me would be great. I thank you in advance.
-Charles

Posts: 3 | Location: Leonard, Texas USA | Registered: August 22, 2006
Picture of Joel W. Sarich
posted
Hello Charles: