Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Any Pocket Watch Carrying Railroaders? "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Donald E. Jones
posted
I am a locomotive engineer for Union Pacific Railroad, at Dallas, TX. There are hundreds of U.P. employees in the D/FW area, and I am the only one I know of, who carries a genuine vintage RR pocket watch! There is a tiny handful who occasionally carry a quartz PW, but since railroads no longer require a "real " railroad watch, young railroaders don't have the watch carrying tradition that older people like myself have. Heck some of them don't carry a watch at all, and rely on their cell phone or pager. I began my career in the 1970's, and at that time we still had to have a Railroad Approved watch, a watch card and periodic watch inspections. I started out with an Accutron 218, then went to a quartz Accutron, then went to a real watch --- a 25 jewel Ball automatic wristwatch. About 10 years ago I bought my first RR/PW, a Hamilton 992B, and at that time, I decided I would carry a pocket watch for the rest of my career, and I have. I have since collected a total of 23 RR/PW's, of many makes and models, dated from 1889 to 1950. I have carried most of them at one time or other. I have just started carrying an 1889 Hampden, and am curious how it will perform. I just had it cleaned. I imagine some collectors will be horrified that one would carry these old beauties to work, but I really get a kick out of using my watches for their intended purpose. Any other PW carrying railroaders out there?

D. E. Jones

Posts: 73 | Location: Sulphur Springs, Texas USA | Registered: June 29, 2006
IHC Life Member
Picture of Robert V. Jones
posted