• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Rose Gold Watch Chain "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Any Gold experts/buyers out there.I have a 14 inch long,14 karat,rose gold chain I'd like to sell and don't know how to price it.It is marked"585" which according to my research is 14 karat.As near as I can calculate it weighs 17.01 grams.Any help would be deeply appreciated.Thanks.Norm

Posts: 484 | Location: Georgia in the United States | Registered: August 04, 2010
posted
Here are some pictures.The locket and pocket clip look gold but are not marked they are not included in 17.01 weight.Thanks.Norm

Posts: 484 | Location: Georgia in the United States | Registered: August 04, 2010
posted
# 2

posted

posted

posted

posted

IHC Member 1016
posted
I'm no expert, but the present price of gold today is roughly $30 per Gram for 14 K. That's actual melt, and I have found it's difficult to sell for any more than that. Actually, it is often hard to get that. Probably the reason these things get melted as the high cost of gold makes it hard to justify any premium over melt.

If your chain is solid 14K it's worth around $500.

Posts: 3112 | Location: Klamath Falls, Oregon in the USA | Registered: October 13, 2007
Picture of Martin Wagner
posted
Norman:

I cannot tell you how to price your chain but can give you some facts about it.

As I type this gold is at $1621.20. 14k being .585 gives you a gold value of $948.40. (that would be $1621.20 x .585 = $948.40.

A troy ounce is composed of 31.1 grams, so you divide the $848.40 by 31.1, which gives you $30.50
gold value per gram.

$30.50 times your weight of 17.01 grams comes to $518.72, which is the actual melt value of your chain.