• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Newbie Looking for Advice "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I'm new to this hobby. I was brought into the hobby by a best friend who loves collecting (though not repairing) vintage watches. I'm rather diy inclined and love beautiful mechanical work so I guess I got hooked rather easily. I've signed up for the time zone school class, purchased the level one tools and deluxe options kit and purchased Donald De Carle's book on Practical Watch Repair and am trying to educate myself. My best friend is attracted to vintage wristwatches but I have to say that I'm more attracted to vintage american pocket watches. I have lots of learning and practicing ahead of me. Amongst other things what books would you recommend...or dvds...or...what works to practice on??

Posts: 15 | Location: San Francisco, California USA | Registered: March 06, 2010
IHC Vice President
Pitfalls Moderator
IHC Life Member
Picture of Edward L. Parsons, Jr.
posted
Welcome to IHC185 Joyce. I'm a pocket watch collector and not much into repair, so I don't know enough to answer your questions intelligently, but I would like to extend a warm welcome aboard! Smile

I'm sure you'll get the information you need before long.

Best Regards,

Ed

Posts: 6696 | Location: Southwestern Pennsylvania, USA | Registered: April 19, 2004
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator
Picture of John J. Flahive III
posted
Hi Joyce,

Welcome to IHC185! As a fellow beginner watch repair person, I found it was very helpful to find a mentor in the area who can show you the proper way to take apart and repair a pocket watch. I have lots of books, but they only come in handy after I have my lesson with my local master watchmaker.