Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

"Need A Little Help" "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Member 1668
Picture of Donnie Tackett
posted
Hi

As I said in an earlier post I am fairly new to watch collecting and very unfamiliar with Waltham watches as I have only been collecting Hamilton's. Lately I've been looking at a lot of the old civil war era Waltham's and have some questions concerning them. I do not work on or repair watches except for maybe an occasional hand or dial change when needed. So pardon my poor watch component grammar as I'm not very familiar with the proper names.

In the photo below you can see I have circled in red what I assume are the ends of the gears that are down under the top plate. My question is why are some of them so big and some are so small. Is it that the one on the right has jewels and the left doesn't? Both watches in the pic according to the "Pocket Watch Database" have 11 jewels.

I have blacked out part of the serial #'s on these watches as I'm not sure if I should post with the full serial numbers (both watches have 5 digit serial numbers). Also the watch on the left I have seen pictured somewhere before, maybe here on the 185, but could not find the post. It show what looks like an issue with the "A" in Mass. But if someone hasn't seen it I put a white arrow pointing to it.

If I have posted in the wrong forum please move or delete.

Thanks, Donnie

Posts: 84 | Location: West Virginia in the USA | Registered: January 30, 2012
posted
I think the full serial could help a little , I don't collect these and hope our more knowledgeable members will chime in

A little tidbit is that president Abraham Lincoln had a Wm Ellery number 67613

Posts: 1574 | Location: Maryland in the USA | Registered: June 04, 2015
Picture of Brian C.
posted
The movement on the left is 7 jewels and 11 jewels on the right. The serial numbers will help to get more info.

Posts: 1857 | Location: Epsom, New Hampshire USA | Registered: December 14, 2002
IHC Member 1668