Page 1 2 
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Hamilton ships Chronometers "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
While inquiring about a pocket watch collection, which was a bust, I located several Ham Chrono - one model 21 and 5 model 22's.

I have searched and read the posts here.

I have no hands on experience with them and want to know what to look for in purchasing one of each.

There is one empty box, an outer box I suppose. Could it be for either the #21 or #22?

I have no pics or serial #'s. All are in wooden cases and the cases and dials are generally in good condition.

How do you get the watch out of the inner box?

I have seen model 22's for $900 at the watch meetings, but they were not selling. Any advice on prices?

Charlie

Life Achievement
Military Expert
Picture of Greg Crockett
posted
I would suggest running a search on eBay - of any of these timepieces that are open for bids and of completed sales. This will give you an idea of what people have bid for these w/in the past 30 days.

I'm not familure with the Model 21, maybe someone can help us out with that.

Originally, the Model 22 was issued by the U.S. Navy. They came in a big pocket watch type case and also in a gimbal type case. These each had wooden protective cases. Post WWII, some of Chronomiter Watches in the pocket watch type cases were re-issued by the Army and had the Navy marks milled off and U.S. Army marks added. Thus,I would consider a Navy marked example to be closer to original issue. Though, an Army marked example is also perfectly legit a good investment.

The mahogany transport boxes have been copied in recent years. The originals I have seen so far were made by Regent Specialties Company, Rochester, New York.

These are great timepieces. I don't think you will regret buying one or more of them.

Best regards,

Greg

Posts: 1991 | Location: East Lansing, Michigan USA | Registered: November 24, 2002
posted
Hello Charles,