Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

longines "baby" weems questions "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
hello guys(& gals if applicable)

i found you site a couple months ago & have been absorbing information here almost on a nightly basis. i finally had the time this week to fill out the application & join. i have collected, restored & reproduced flight jackets (mainly ww2 era shearling & leather) for a few years now & as my collection branched out, i found the a-11 & ord. dept. wristwatches to be a nice "complimentary" item to wear with my jackets. a trained watchsmith i am not, but more of a self taught amatuer. i have learned to navigate my way thru the mil. watches pretty well & diagnose problems ( & farm out the work that is above my ability Smile) clean, adjust, relume hands, polish crystals, etc. in performing my "little" amatuer jobs, i have have developed a great respect for you professionals & the tedious, precise work you perform !! i build custom cars & motorcycles as a profession, so i appreciate the minute details that most people miss, & my hat's off to you guys. now to my question:
i just picked up a longines "baby" weems to restore the other day. first, i see why they call it "baby". they are smaller than one would expect. if anyone has one, can you tell me what type of crystal would be correct? mine has a high dome plastic crystal, but if thats not correct, i'll change it out. i'm going to relume the hands & probably get the dial refinished. to remove the movement, do i need to also remove the ring locking crown? i just didn't want to start taking things apart & get any surprises, as the rotating ring asembly is in excellent shape & i'm not planning on taking it apart if it's not necessary.
thanks in advance, & i'll probably be asking more questions as time passes.

regards,
steve.

Posts: 5 | Location: Old Hickory, Tennessee USA | Registered: March 09, 2007
posted