Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Kienzle clock identification "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hi all:
Please help me date my Kienzle bracket clock. The movement bears the winged clock Kienzle logo with the number "22". The gong is signed Kienzle with a scene with characters on it.

The case was originally a nice mahogany which someone painted a yucky brown. I would like to remove the paint with as little damage to the wood as possible. Any suggestions?

The dial was replaced and I would like to know what the original looked like. Please help.
The clock, in spite of its warts, is functioning nicely.
Thanks for your help

Pattye

Posts: 119 | Location: Lookout Mountain, Georgia U.S.A. | Registered: October 14, 2004
posted
Here is the gong for the clock.
Pattye

Posts: 119 | Location: Lookout Mountain, Georgia U.S.A. | Registered: October 14, 2004
posted
I can't help date the clock but if you want to refinish it I would give the following advice. I am not a professional, just someone that likes to work with wood and refinishes clocks as part of my love for clocks.

1. Remove the movement and all metal and glass from the clock being careful to not damage the wood or the part.
2. Check the clock for veneer damage if you can. Some paint hides a lot of damage that will make your restoration job harder or make it hard to have your work look good when you are done.
3. Realize that the wood under the paint may not be of one kind. That will make it difficult to use a stain and may limit your paint choices. Manufacture's know the item will be painted and do not always use the best of woods.
4. Use a chemical paint stripper to remove the paint.
5. Get some wood that matches the type the clock is made of, this may require you to get several types of wood. Test any paint on this sample wood to ensure that it will look the way you want it to look when you are done.