Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Family owned Seth Thomas clocks - Questions "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Member 1550
posted
Hello all,

This is my first time posting in the Clock discussion pages as I am usualy in the Military watch forum but I have some questions on two Seth Thomas clocks that have been in my wife's family for years. My wife is not really the watch or clock enthusiest but I being one of course has sprung some questions.

There are two clocks: One is a wall mounted "school clock" looking piece. It is about 24 inches tall and 16 inches at it's widest. Key wound of course.

The other is a mantle clock about 13 inches tall and 9 inches wide. I have atatched photos of both. What I am looking for are questions about their age and value plus any more information someone may have. Please let me know if more photos are needed. Thank you all and have a wonderful Thanksgiving Day! Regards, M

Posts: 495 | Location: Southcoast Massachusetts | Registered: May 13, 2010
IHC Member 1550
posted
Seth Thomas mark on dial

IHC Member 1550
posted
Instructions behind the pendulum.

IHC Member 1550
posted
Mantle clock

IHC Member 1550
posted
Photo of rear

IHC Member 1550
posted
close up of dial mark

IHC Member 1550
posted
close up of "movement" mark

posted
Michael,

Neat clocks and were big volume sellers in their day. The one is a 12 in drop octagon and should have a 12 inch dial. The other is a plain jane shelf clock.

My guess as to value is that it is minimal and in their present condition would not retail for much more than the cost of servicing or restoring.

happy hunting

Posts: 881 | Location: Arroyo Grande, California USA | Registered: February 22, 2004
posted
Michael, The "12 in. drop Octagon" as Bill said was a huge seller from around 1924.Strange that this particular clock was not made in "strike" but time only. Maybe an economy model? Lots of people still want them and they are often copied by the korean clock companies.