• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Illinois Prince? "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Is this a Prince? It seems to look like the illustration in the Price Guide.

Posts: 676 | Location: Oak Ridge, Tennessee USA | Registered: December 08, 2002
posted
17-j movement

posted
Inside of case back, some solder repair on one side. Case is marked Illinois Watch Case Co, Elgin, TIVOLI, 7751592, 3/0. Numbers on case body match the serial number in the back. There is no indication of gold content, if any.

IHC Member 376
Watchmaker
Picture of Samie L. Smith
posted
John
nice looking watch looks like the Prince,

I am by no means a expert on Illinois watches but it looks right. Smile

Posts: 3208 | Location: Monticello, Kentucky U.S.A. | Registered: June 24, 2004
posted
The Prince is just another wrong name in the various price guides. When it was new, it was sold as the Atlantic.

Regards,

Rick

Posts: 141 | Location: Michigan in the USA | Registered: October 13, 2005
posted
Ah, ok. thanks! If I decide to dispose of it I will use both names.

Wristwatch Expert
IHC Life Member
Picture of William J. Hansen, Ph.D.
posted
I respectfully agree with Rick.

Bill Hansen
IHC# 198
Life Member# 17

Posts: 813 | Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA | Registered: January 22, 2003
posted
I do not have many Illinois catalogs and I do not know alot about Illinois watches. This watch case is not in the 1928 nor 1932 catalog.

I think it is in the Blue Book Jewelry Store catalog of 1929. All the Hamilton watches and many of the Illinois watches are labeled as Factory Complete. This is not one of them. It is in a section of watches cased by the distributor. Notice it does not have any name attached. Is it the same case? I know the dial is different. When does the watch in this thread date?

Don

Posts: 173 | Location: Columbia, Pennsylvania U.S.A. | Registered: July 13, 2004
posted