Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Unusual Accutrons I have known... "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Michael Sherwood
posted
Hello, I'm new to the 185 and this is my first post. I have over the years collected various Accutron 214s and 218s. I have but two left. The nice wristwatch 218 in 14Kt that is very enjoyable. The other is the inigma I place before you.

I acquired this gem in late 1999 off eBay. It appeared to be some type of mission timer that may have been used in a craft of sorts (tank, plane, spacecraft). It is housed in an aluminum case with a glass crystal that is anti-glare coated and the case allows for attachment to the right side of some console via tapped screw holes (now covered with velcro so I can move this clock from location to location).

The face, as you see it, is 24 hour with sweep second hand and high visibility white numbers and hands - no luminous paint used that I can tell. The curious thing is the three odometer-like numbers that measure elapsed 24-hour periods or, as I like to call them, elapsed-day counter. This will count from 000 to 999 and each number may be reset by inserting a small jeweler's screwdriver into any of the three holes on the case - allows you to reset only one number if you desire.

The back of the Accutron's case is normal for a 214 and the hack set is of the usual type. My conundrum is where did this thing come from and what was its purpose in life? Any ideas? I guess this could have just as easily been posted on the clock discussion board but this little fellow seemed to better fit the watch category.

Thanks for anything you can assist in identifying the use of this functional, accurate, and very compelling artifact. Thanks.

Mike

214 mission

Posts: 9 | Location: Plano, Texas in the USA | Registered: February 02, 2007
posted
Welcome Michael,