• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

sekonda "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hi, greetings from Australia. I have a late 1970s seconda de-luxe 23 jewel with a sweet luch 2209 movement. It belonged to my father and was thrown in a draw after many years when it stopped working. I recently started playing with pocket watches and managed to save a few from the scrap heap; with a little help from this forum. I rediscovered the sekonda and thought id have a go at fixing it. It was quite an easy strip and clean, (once i figured out that the movement came out through the front after the cloudy and scratched crystal was removed). The repair was as simple as replacing the hour wheel (which had stipped a few teeth). A few parts were sourced including an original replacement crystal and a new case clamp and screw. The watch now runs and keeps realy good time.
The bad part is, I cant get the thing back in the case. The movement just wont sit in far enough. The dial just wont fit in the recess. I CAN SEE WHERE IT NEEDS TO BE! But it wont fit In the hole it came out of. The appature seems a fraction too small. I tried to gently pull it in with the case clamps , but the face just sits too far forwardunder this tension and I cannot get the minute hand on. Out of the case, all is fine. There must be a knack to refit it. It came out easily, therefore it must go back in. I thought about heating the case to see if it expands enouh to give clearance. I also thought about a crystal lifter to coax the dial (which has curved edges) back in.
So now, help and assistance is needed.
It wont beat me
Thanks in advance for the help.

Posts: 35 | Location: Victoria in Australia | Registered: July 30, 2013
IHC Life Member
Certified Watchmaker
Picture of Chris Abell
posted
Hi Paul,