Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

A bad day today... "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
In my continuing efforts to learn watch repair, today I managed to:
1. break the bottom pivot of a lever in an A. Schild 1430 movement, and
2. break the seconds hand post/pivot on another movement.
Well, it is frustrating. I hope I learn something from these mistakes. Frown
Pete
"bad day" to be taken in proper perspective, of course!

Posts: 156 | Location: O'Fallon, Illinois U.S.A. | Registered: September 03, 2004
Picture of Ron Birchall
posted
Thanks for sharing your trials and tribulations Pete. I am not happy that you are having trouble but I feel less alone in dealing with my own startup travails.

May the sun shine on you tomorrow!

Ron

Posts: 388 | Location: Wheaton, Illinois U.S.A. | Registered: December 20, 2004
posted
Hi Peter,

I'm new to repair work and can say I know how you feel. Sorry about your bad day - sounds like you already know it could have been worse. I find that if I start screwing up, it's an indication for me to walk away from my work area and do something entirely different & non-horological. I also know that as a beginner, I have to start first thing in the morning because it takes me forever to do one task.

At least you are willing to learn from your mistakes which at this point, could be considered tuition - if you catch my drift. Wink

Barbara

Posts: 315 | Location: Los Angeles, California USA | Registered: April 07, 2005
Picture of Sam Williamson
posted
My crowning glory was blowing the dust off of a hairspring and....the more than planned for blast of air tangled a perfectly good HS into a Medusa's masterpiece Frown Not the first HS I've managed to kill either Frown Frown Needless to say, I now handle them as if they were priceless spun crystal ornaments in Tiffanys Roll Eyes

Sam Williamson

Posts: 618 | Location: Northwestern Florida in the U.S.A. | Registered: November 27, 2002
posted