Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Manual Timex mainspring let down help? "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Life Member
Picture of Roddy J. Brunton
posted
Hi, I have several of these that are wound tight & I want to let down the mainsprings. However, I can't figure out how to release these.
I am a hobbyist/collector not a watchmaker.
Thanks, Rod

Roddy JB

Posts: 1385 | Location: Richmond, British Columbia in Canada | Registered: January 07, 2009
IHC Life Member
Certified Watchmaker
Picture of Chris Abell
posted
Have you looked under the dial side?
often if you apply a little extra winding pressure on and off you will see the click/part to release moving.

Posts: 2625 | Location: Northeast Texas in the USA | Registered: November 20, 2003
IHC Life Member
posted
Hi Chris, No I have not done that. I have never removed a dial before, though I have let down the mainspring on a couple other makes of manual watches. I would have to remove the hands & dial to do that? Regards, Rod

Roddy JB

Posts: 1385 | Location: Richmond, British Columbia in Canada | Registered: January 07, 2009
posted
Roddy,
If you're going to completely disassemble this Timex movement, be careful. They're a bit harder to reassemble than your standard 16s Elgin.
Pete

Posts: 156 | Location: O'Fallon, Illinois U.S.A. | Registered: September 03, 2004
IHC Life Member
posted
hi Pete,
Trust me, I do not want to dissamble this completely, just release the mainspring. I think then it will start running. I am not a watchmaker! regards, Rod

Roddy JB

posted