WWT Shows CLICK TO: Join and Support Internet Horology Club 185™ IHC185™ Forums

• Check Out Our... •
• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

(found lost parts!!!) damaged Waltham pallet fork? "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Todd Verriere
posted
hi everybody,
so i started on my second non running Waltham today. did my first Waltham this weekend and after cleaning and oiling it started right up, i love buying non runners. good for practice and good for my confidence when they start up.
this one however may be a different story, there are a lot of scratches around the screws indicating a monkey tried to take it apart before i got it. as soon as i took out the pallet fork i saw a big problem, what i believe is called the guard pin, seems to have been bent out of shape.
is it possible to fix this? is there a technique for fixing this or do i look for a replacement or parts watch?
i have a lot of experience working with small tools and parts, (no smart comments please, this is a family friendly site) so i think it may be possible to put this right with patience and care. and what a victory it would be!
thanks everyone
Todd

Posts: 290 | Location: Montreal in Canada | Registered: January 11, 2015
IHC Member 1736
posted
Todd,

I'm not so sure it is "out of shape"... this may be by design.

Dry fit the balance assy and pallet, check the clearances of the guard pin and it's relationship to the notch in the roller plate.

This pin should roll through the notch in the roller plate as the jewel passes through the tail of the pallet fork.

Good eyes, lighting, visual angle... it can be a bear to see and is hard to focus on for any length of time.

I have had some luck with lining everything up "static" taking a photo, then blowing up the photo on the computer.

The pin will tolerate some "working", but the metal does work harden pretty fast... you only get a couple shots at it.