Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Dial Restoration "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Jack Davis
posted
I recently picked up a Waltham, P.S. Bartlett KW Circa 1864. Unfortunately, it has one of those awful reproduction dials on it. A member on another board suggested that it might be a plastic overlay and to try peeling it off to see if an appropriate dial is underneath.

I picked at it for a bit and I am just beginning to see American Watch Co underneath the overlay. There is a thin layer of clear plastic over the decal which peels off in small pieces using an exacto knife.

I don't want to keep scraping at it for fear of damaging the original (I Hope!) dial underneath. Any suggestions for removing the remainder of the repro? Here is a pic of what I have so far. Thanks!

http://www.picturetrail.com/gallery/view?p=999&gid=1597309&uid=605699&members=1

Jack Davis
IHC Member #6

Posts: 208 | Location: Elgin, Illinois USA | Registered: November 30, 2002
posted
i would suggest soaking in acetone.....

with caution..... flammable.... no smoking.....

IHC President
Life Member
Picture of Lindell V. Riddle
posted
Jack,

A safe acetone-based product I strongly recommend for this and removal of Super-Glue type products is "Cutex Quick and Gentle Nail Polish Remover". The UPC code is 7513701351, it is convenient to use and readily available.

Depending on the adhesive used that acetone-based product will either remove it perfectly or not even phase it. Hardware stores can sell you a product called "Goo-Gone" that is great for practically any adhesive removal job.