Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Hamilton repair help -987 "Click" to Login or Register 
Hamilton WW Expert

Picture of Gary Cole
posted
I have a 987 that was working finen , till i changed the dial.

Heres my problem, when the second goes on , the balance wheel stops, when it comes off, it resumes and keeps accurate time - any thoughts

did i bend or damage the 4th wheel pivot?

I am very new at repairs and other than replacing dials and hands , my only sucess of note, is replacing a mainspring barrel to fix another movement. Not bad, nut i am not ready to hang out the shingle Smile

thanks for the help

Posts: 61 | Location: Sarasota, Florida U.S.A. | Registered: May 30, 2004
posted
Gary, If the pivot was buggered up the watch would likely have a problem running without the seconds in place. A slight bend to the pivot might cause the seconds to contact the dial but that is pretty easy to see. If the seconds hand is a replacement then there is a chance the pipe is long and contacts the jewel when pressed down. Also check that the hand is flat and horizontal to the pipe. Once you find the cause these problems aren't too hard to correct.
-Cort

Posts: 536 | Location: El Cerrito, California U.S.A. | Registered: October 04, 2004
Picture of Kenny Drafts
posted
Gary,
My guess is that the new dial is not aligned precisely and the second hand tube is binding on the side of the dial. Check and see if the second hand post and center wheel plnion are centered in the dial holes. If the sec. hand post is off center that`s likely the problem. The remedy would be to correctly and very carefully bend the dial feet so that the dial aligns properly. Needless to say, I suppose, but if this not done carefully and accurately you could make it worse or even damage the dial! I have used a broach on a dial hole edge to remove a "micro" amount when the tube just barely touched.
Again, CAREFUL! Any undue stress or heavy-handedness on the dial feet could ruin the dial!

Smile