• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Oiling question "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I'm new here, so for background, I'm an amateur and only work on watches that I own. Recently I've serviced several Hamilton pocket watches s10 (917, 921, and 945) and a few s16 military watches (992B and 4992B). In the case of capstone holders that fit into a plate recess I've dealt with oiling the jewel setting by treating the capstone with Fixodrop, putting a spot of oil on them, inverting the holder and dropping it into place. The result is a set of nice round oil rings in the cavity. My problem is with the fiendish design of the upper balance capstones in these watches.

Fried says just assemble the balance, put a bit of oil in the jewel oil cup and with a fine gold wire much smaller than the pivot push the oil into the cavity between jewel and capstone. Unfortunately, I have no gold wire and have been unable to find any sort of wire small enough for this operation. Bergeon makes an automatic oiler 2917 that is supposed to work for this application, but I have never seen one.

So, finally, my questions are: does anyone have a suggestion about wire of small enough diameter for this application, or does anyone have experience with the Bergeon oiler and would recommend it for this application. Any other suggestions, of course, most welcome.

Thanks in advance, and best regards,

Ron

Posts: 10 | Location: Indiana in the USA | Registered: May 18, 2013
posted
A tool is sold with a tip with small wire: http://www.jewelerssupplies.com/product8602.html

Posts: 222 | Location: Alabama in the USA | Registered: June 12, 2011
posted
Thank you so much Michael. Missed that one completely and will definitely give it a try. Still interested in hearing from anyone having experience with the Bergeon automatic oiler.

Ron

IHC Member 1691
posted
Hi Ron, I use an automatic oiler 2718-1A and it's a life saver.