• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Safety pinion problem? Help me with this, guys "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
In a well-known forum for the sale of watches, and what not, I came upon a description by a guy who seems to know his stuff, and has good watches:

"The watch was working, but now it is not. I think the safety pinion came loose and needs to be tightened. Wound tight and the balance is good."

I have any number of watches which are wound tight, and the balance wheel swings, but only part of its arc, slamming to a stop each time and swinging back. I have always suspected a staff problem, but what do you all say?

Steve

Posts: 7 | Location: Holdenville, Oklahoma in the USA | Registered: July 11, 2010
posted
Well, I am no expert, but as I recall, a safety pinion comes into play if you release the mainspring click and release all the mainspring's power directly into the watch. The safety pinion will unwind and take most of the force, leaving the rest of the watch relatively unharmed.

Winding a watch would cause the safety pinion to wind itself back into place ready for the next 'accident'. I don't think that it cause the watch to not run.

But like I say, I am not an expert.
One of those will be along shortly to answer your question properly.

Posts: 18 | Location: Kelowna, British Columbia. | Registered: November 04, 2007
IHC Life Member
Certified Watchmaker
Picture of Chris Abell
posted
Steve,