Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

For those still learning....... "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Life Member
Picture of Patrick Wallin
posted
A few months ago I had a unit with a hour wheel that just spun freely. The little itty bitty toothed gear under the wheel had come loose. I dug through my parts bins and found one, installed it and all was OK. Yesterday I ran into another one with the same problem. Wondering which end of the little gear went against the bottom on the wheel I used a 10x loupe to inspect it and discovered that it was threaded and so was the bottom of the larger wheel. I thought it was a press fit. Using a nylon jawed plier I tightened it up and it is also working good today. I am a relative newbie and always will be a newbie, but for those of you that have not yet discovered this, I thought I would post a little note on the subject.

Posts: 1732 | Location: Enumclaw, Washington in the USA | Registered: October 02, 2011
posted
That gear that unscrews is called the safety pinon. It unscrews when the mainspring breaks or the click is unhooked from the ratchet wheel.
I ran into that problem myself when learning. One lesson I also learned is never use a pair of pliers to tighten that gear. Some of the gears are brittle and a tooth will break off with to much torque. I now use a pair of tweezers with teeth to hold the gear and then tighten it slightly with my fingers.

Posts: 1143 | Location: Chicago, Illinois in the USA | Registered: September 05, 2010
IHC Life Member
posted
Jim, So it is possible that I caused the gear to spin loose while letting down the MS by sticking a pin in the ratchet release hole. Neither units had a broken MS. The nylon tip pliers I mentioned have a very soft grip, kinda like a pair of battery tweezers and are parallel closing.

Posts: 1732 | Location: Enumclaw, Washington in the USA | Registered: October 02, 2011
posted