• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Need help with balance assembly "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
The balance is from a 18S Home watch Co. movement.
Does anyone have advice on how to disassemble the balance? I have to replace the staff.
When looking at the top, the hairspring is below the balance wheel and I’m not sure how to start taking it apart. Are any special tools necessary?
I will appreciate any help.
Thanks,
Dan

Balance_1

Posts: 21 | Location: Jamison, Pennsylvania USA | Registered: December 14, 2004
posted
Hi Dan, from what i know, and i am no expert on this.The roller table needs to be removed and yes a special tool for this job is used to do this.Some roller removal tools are more complex than others and the price of them varies also.The hairspring also needs to be removed to work on the staff and a special tool for that one.Sometimes the collet can be held by tweezers and twisted and it can come off.One thing to remember also is the roller table and hairspring have to have their positions marked so you can reasemble them in their original positions.
I hope this helps and hopefully if i have not explained this well, someone will correct or help more.

Picture of Jerry Treiman
posted
I don't think that I would use tweezers to remove the hairspring and collet - too much chance of it slipping and bending the spring. I use a tool that is like a very small screwdriver. It fits in the split of the collet and with a slight twist and upward lift it will break the collet free of the staff and lift it off. Anyway, that is what the books say, but it never works for me (the lifting part). It does allow me to turn the collet, though, loosening it enough to give me just enough room to get underneath it with the same tool to pry it up and off the shoulder.

Posts: 1455 | Location: Los Angeles, California USA | Registered: January 14, 2003
Picture of Kenny Drafts
posted