Internet Horology Club 185
Questions from a beginner

This topic can be found at:
https://ihc185.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/254108073/m/7201016792

January 04, 2008, 14:44
William J. Westbrook
Questions from a beginner
I'm hoping that someone will intertain a few questions from a total novice.

What have I got here?
Does it look correct?
What are the tiny inscriptions on the inside of the back of the case?

Any help would be appreciated.
January 04, 2008, 14:57
William J. Westbrook
Trouble posting picture. I'll keep trying

January 04, 2008, 15:00
William J. Westbrook
Picture of movement number C57755

January 04, 2008, 15:01
William J. Westbrook
Back of case

January 04, 2008, 15:02
William J. Westbrook
Inside of case back number 1346502

January 04, 2008, 15:03
William J. Westbrook
Detail of one of the inscriptions inside case

January 04, 2008, 16:28
Lindell V. Riddle

Welcome Aboard Bill,

Looks like a nice, most likely original example!

Your movement number C57755 fits into 1942 production as does that Case 11 with the 1346502 case number. It has the unusual hands from that time-frame due evidently to War-Time Shortages. The "Double-Sunk" porcelain-enamel "Heavy-Gothic" dial with "Hamilton Railway Special" markings is also entirely correct for that time. Most collectors would consider your watch to be an original combination.

Those little symbols you asked about, letters and numbers hand-scratched inside the case-back are "service marks" which is a code that identifies when and by whom the watch was serviced. Some watches in Railroad Time Service will have quite a few of those markings.

Share what you might know of the history and we'll see what others have to say.

Lindell

Wink

January 04, 2008, 17:50
William J. Westbrook