• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

New Member, what have I got "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Greetings to all you very clever people, It may seem a bit late in life for me to join, but I love these old watches,I am a complete novice I dont even know how to take the cover off this,
it reads at the back, Lion, Anchor, k, A L D Hope some one can put me straight Thank you,

Posts: 107 | Location: Liverpool, England | Registered: November 27, 2009
posted
Hi Leslie,
Welcome to this very congenial forum! If you will open your watch to the position shown in your picture, you can slide the black ring a short distance that will allow the back cover to easily lift off so you can see the movement a little better. The marks stamped in the case are called hallmarks, and tell you that the initials of the man who made the case are 'ALD', and that the case is sterling silver (lion)as guaranteed by the Birmingham Assay office (anchor). The letter 'k' signifies a year, probably 1884, when the case was made.
If you take the opportunity to purchase the book called, "Complete Price Guide to Watches" offered here, you can see this explanation, and much more, for yourself on page 455. Glad to have you here; this is a fun and helpful group! We love pictures, so post away...
Mike

Posts: 803 | Location: Knoxville, Tennessee in the USA | Registered: September 02, 2009
IHC Life Member

Picture of Jerry King
posted
I would like to welcome you to our site as well, Leslie....

Mike has given you some very good info regarding the case of your watch and It would be helpful if we could see the dial and rear of the movement in order to give you more info....and as Mike suggested, we do like to see photo's....

If I could, here is a link to where you may obtain the book that Mike referred to and you may want to consider joining our group in order to have full access to all our forums....

Join and Support IHC185