Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Tell us, what do you see here? "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC President
Life Member
Picture of Lindell V. Riddle
posted

This very polite eMail came in earlier today...

Internet Horology Chapter,

Thank you for your time. My name is Mike, and I am new to collecting pocket watches.
I found this watch at a estate sale. I have researched it in books and on the internet
and came up empty. I found your website in a book.

I am hoping you can help me with the information I need. This watch does not run.
The crystal is scratched but not broken. The number on the cover 6115. The number
on the movement side is 1501. The outside of the cover has some artwork etched on
both sides. I have attached photos to the email for you to look at. I am hoping you
can spare a precious few moments of your very valuable time to investigate. It would
be deeply appreciated and most generous.

Thank you very much,

Mike

I'll reserve comment at this point, tell us what you see...

Posts: 10553 | Location: Northeastern Ohio in the USA | Registered: November 19, 2002
IHC President
Life Member
posted

Posts: 10553 | Location: Northeastern Ohio in the USA | Registered: November 19, 2002
IHC President
Life Member
posted

IHC President
Life Member
posted

posted
Swiss fake with a mangled hairspring?

Aaron

Posts: 945 | Location: Geneva, Illinois in the U.S.A. | Registered: November 19, 2002
Picture of Jim Carroll
posted
Very early jeweled barrel.

Jim Carroll

Posts: 77 | Location: Inverclyde Scotland | Registered: November 23, 2002
posted
I see a watch that has a lot of hours invested in it's making, trying to be a Waltham. There are some condition issues such as a hunter case lid that opens too far and various screw and hand switches. It must have been relied on for several years of service. As with the amazing efforts being made today to clone brand name watches I feel a bit sad that the craftsmen who made this was compelled to cheat by riding the