Internet Horology Club 185
Is This Solid Gold???? - Marked Monarch Case

This topic can be found at:
https://ihc185.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/1086047761/m/2423923367

June 26, 2011, 14:52
Steve Middlesworth
Is This Solid Gold???? - Marked Monarch Case
I came across this marking in one of my watches today and after researching it on this site I am assuming it is solid White gold. Does that still hold true if it is marked Monarch?

Steve

June 26, 2011, 14:55
Steve Middlesworth
Here is the watch.....

June 26, 2011, 18:44
Edward L. Parsons, Jr.
Steve,

I'm no expert on this, but in my experience, any kind of brand name on a case refers to a type or grade of gold-filled case.

That said, I never heard of Brooklynn Watch Case Company making anything other than solid gold cases . . . Confused

Best Regards,

Ed
June 26, 2011, 19:06
Tom Brunton
The "FAT BOOK" shows that dog bone shaped BWC Co. trademark as being solid gold ,nice Wink
June 26, 2011, 22:44
Steve Middlesworth
It just struck me as really odd as that is the only markings in the case other than a serial number. I have had this watch for awhile now, about 3 years to be exact and never new that it was a solid gold case, the first one I have ever owned. I must say the seller didn't know it either as I paid no where near gold case price for it.

Steve
June 26, 2011, 22:58
Jerry King
Steve, your watch case is in fact solid gold, probably 10 or 8 karat....

The Brooklyn Watch Case Co. did in fact make two cases that were not solid gold....

1. Windsor was an 8 karat case and advertized as the cheapest gold filled case made.....

Then there was one of the finest gold filled cases made....

2. The Granger #2, #2 because it was made from double gold stock....

As far as I know those were the only two cases the B.W.C.Co. made that wasn't solid gold....

Nice find....

Regards,

Jerry
June 27, 2011, 02:27
Gene Piano
Most likely not gold. Geno
June 27, 2011, 06:36
Steve Middlesworth
Gene,