• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

New Member -First Question! "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Having joined the club I thought that I should say hi from this side of the pond! The prompt has been the arrival of the 2009 Cooksey Shugart. Many thanks - and how did you get it to me so quickly? It took less than a week even though we are beset with postal strikes here at the moment. Brilliant service!. I've also ordered 'American Watchmaking and look forward to that too.
I started collecting watches only back in 2005 starting with English ones- my earliest is a c1760 William Frodsham movement recased in 1853. I didn't get into US watches until I bought a Fattorini of Bradford and found that it contained a Waltham movement. I've only bought American since!
I'm afraid that I'm no engineer or technician and I have to think very hard to understand how the watch actually works. - the skill and the knowledge that I've seen on 185 are astounding. I enjoy the watches for what they do and what they are- tell time which has been an endeavour of man forever, and their beauty - many are just such works of art. My early training and profession was as an historian and I find a real fascination in researching the foundation and the fortunes of the watch companies and seeing in the watches a reflection of American history. As a result my collection is a bit broad at the moment as I try to get examples from Waltham to Knickerbocker!
Why 185? I looked at other discusiion sites and found them a bit aloof. I could imagine asking one of by dumb beginner's questions and getting a snooty answer! The expertise, generosity and friendship that I've seen on 185 are impressive - guys are really prepared to go the extra mile to help out others with the same interest and there are no put downs.